Immunity


It was her last day at our home when I saw her bulging thyroid. She was a slender, old lady with a very thin layer of flesh under her wrinkled skin. She wore slippers and had a pathetic piece of cloth on. That day, when I saw her goiter, I actually noticed her presence. She took off her slippers by the main door, got to work- cleaning the house, washing the toilets. Then, she sat beside me by the heater as it was mid of December. I was studying and she started to irritate me by her strange mumbling. The most annoying thing was that I didn’t catch a single word she was saying neither did she get whatever I said. Then, she asked for a cup of tea which I managed to hear. I made faces and made her one. Then she said:”sukki chah thallay langdi nae ” (Mere tea doesn’t go down the throat.). I got annoyed but fetched her a piece or two of bread. She left afterwards. Mean while I saw her neck. Now that she was gone, I thought ,”I should have suggested her Iodised salt or something”. I was wondering whether she knew what iodine is or even what iodized salt is. I really felt sorry for her. But I know I ‘ll get over it. I always do.

5 thoughts on “Immunity”

  1. camping deals
    Hey there! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I had to ask. Does operating a well-established blog like yours require a lot of work? I am completely new to blogging but I do write in my journal everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my personal experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it! camping deals

  2. lol @^camping deals. It takes no hard work to operate a blog like this unless you’re designing your own blog from scratch, then you’ll have to learn CSS, HTML, PHP, Javascript and what not. :p Of course you can pay for all that but it’ll cost you more than you can think to do everything.

    & lol @zainubjaved, you should keep your room door close so that no one comes and sits by you and asks for a cup of tea. :p It sucks when you’re concentrating on something and someone disturbs you.

Leave a Reply

